Posted in Uncategorized

Light the fire

 

IMG_20170719_225311550 (4).jpg

I carry the pain at heart

like a smoker carries his cigarettes

for when the night falls &  my feet are tired

I rest my back against an old tree

and think , of all the good times

that seem to have flown by .

I fix my eyes at some far point in the sky

like a smoker stares somewhere in the horizon

and I cry , a tear or two

he smokes , a puff or two

both soothe the nerves .

Once the heart is light , I wipe my tears

like he crushes the cigarette beneath his feet

a moment of sudden peace arrives

as the mind stands still

until we both look away & decide

it is best to move on .

 

A little chunk of our heart decides to stay

as if , it was its destiny

the tear-drop which  moisted the soil  soon dries

and the wind spreads the cigarette ash .

                                                                   Arijit Roy

                                                                 (Poem and Photograph)

 

Author:

learning to fly like those angels did a long time ago ...

Leave a Reply

